Primary election Tuesday, March 18

Yes, it is election time! Who knew? This time it's the primary election, where the established political parties set their candidates for the next general election as well as doing some housekeeping of their own (ie, electing precinct committeepersons).

Early voting runs from March 3-15 at Lake Forest City Hall, 220 E. Deerpath Rd. Hours are Monday through Friday, 9 am to 4:30 pm, and Saturday 9 am to 2 pm. You'll need a valid government-issued photo ID.

If you prefer to vote on Election Day — Tuesday, March 18 — most Knollwood residents vote at the Knollwood Fire Station, 14 N. Skokie Highway. Check the Lake County Clerk's website to confirm your voting location and to see a sample ballot.

Below are all the candidates in this election; please be aware that, when you vote, you will be required to ask for a Republican ballot or a Democratic ballot and you will see only that party's candidates on your ballot. The following list was taken directly from the Lake County Clerk's website and the order of the candidates is as presented there.

Office Candidate Party
U. S. Senator Richard J. Durbin Democratic
U. S. Senator James D. "Jim" Oberweis Republican
U. S. Senator Douglas Lee Truax Republican
U. S. Senator Sherry Procarione (Write-In) Republican
Governor/Lt. Governor Tio Hardiman\Brunell Donald Democratic
Governor/Lt. Governor Pat Quinn\Paul Vallas Democratic
Governor/Lt. Governor Bill Brady\Maria Rodriguez Republican
Governor/Lt. Governor Dan Rutherford\Steve Kim Republican
Governor/Lt. Governor Kirk W. Dillard\Jil Tracy Republican
Governor/Lt. Governor Bruce Rauner\Evelyn Sanguinetti Republican
Attorney General Lisa Madigan Democratic
Attorney General Paul M. Schimpf Republican
Secretary of State Jesse White Democratic
Secretary of State Michael Webster Republican
Comptroller Sheila Simon Democratic
Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka Republican
Treasurer Michael W. Frerichs Democratic
Treasurer Tom Cross Republican
Treasurer Bob Grogan Republican
Rep in Congress 10th Brad Schneider Democratic
Rep in Congress 10th Robert Dold Republican
State Central Committeewoman 10th Lauren Beth Gash Democratic
State Central Committeeman 10th Daniel M. Pierce Democratic
State Representative - 58th Dist Scott Drury Democratic
State Representative - 58th Dist Mark Neerhof Republican
Lake County Clerk Janet E. Kilkelly Democratic
Lake County Clerk Carla N. Wyckoff Republican
Lake County Treasurer Cynthia Plouche Democratic
Lake County Treasurer David Stolman Republican
Lake County Treasurer Jeralyn "Jeri" Atleson Republican
Lake County Sheriff Jason Patt Democratic
Lake County Sheriff John T. Krempotic Democratic
Lake County Sheriff Mark C. Curran, Jr. Republican
Regional Superintendent Schl No Candidate Democratic
Regional Superintendent Schl Roycealee J. Wood Republican
Judge of the Appellate Court 2nd Judicial District - To fill vacancy of Hon. John J. Bowman No Candidate Democratic
Judge of the Appellate Court 2nd Judicial District - To fill vacancy of Hon. John J. Bowman Michael J. Burke Republican
Committeeman Precinct 235 Dan Rogers Republican
Committeeman Precinct 235 Teddi L. Santos Republican